Complex queries and schemaless metrics

Hi All,

I am new to Druid and so far it looks great! So thank you for the great work! :slight_smile:

We are evaluating Druid’s suitability and performance since our use case involves collecting analytics from our users, which can go to some TB per day.

Before deciding to use Druid, we need to answer the following questions and I would really appreciate your help with:

1. Some of our clients are e-commerce firms and we would like to be able to issue a performant query to answer the following question on cart abandonment:
  • Which (and also how many) are the distinct users who have left an abandoned cart in the last x minutes?

Our data model is modelled around events, so when a user adds something to the cart during a session x, we store an “ADDED_TO_CART” event with the sessionId as a dimension and when a purchase is completed, we store a “PURCHASED” event which also contains that sessionId as a point of reference.

If we would do it in SQL, we would issue a join on the same table to check that an “ADDED_TO_CART” event has occurred in the last x minutes AND there is NO “PURCHASE” event that has occurred after the “ADDED_TO_CART” event for this sessionId.

I am struggling to find a way to express this is the Druid query language.

Would it be more performant to split it into 2 queries and merge the results in another application layer?

What do you think would be the best way to write a query like this?

1. We are looking for a system that has a very flexible schema, so that we can allow our clients to create their own events. (Just like you can do in Google Analytics for example, by posting your own events for tracking)

I can see that Druid offers schemaless dimensions, which is great. From what I understand though, the metrics should be specified from the beginning in the ingestion schema. Is this correct?