Data ingestion queries

Hi ,

I am a newbie to druid.

I have a few basic questions on the batch ingestion .

1.Why do we have to specify an interval in the index task spec. Doesnt druid detect the timestamp from the source itself?

in the http://druid.io/docs/0.8.2/tutorials/tutorial-loading-batch-data.html example

"granularitySpec" : {
        "type" : "uniform",
        "segmentGranularity" : "DAY",
        "queryGranularity" : "NONE",
 **        "intervals" : [ "2013-08-31/2013-09-01" ]**      }

2.What happens if some data exceeding the interval is present in the source file. Does this get rejected

3.I tried ingesting two data files with same interval to same datasource. It seems that the second load overwrites this interval rather than insert/append. Is this the expected behaviour?

1. I am looking at some use case of realtime ingestion where there maybe new metrics created on the fly in upstream systems. I was looking at tranquility

https://github.com/druid-io/tranquility/blob/master/core/src/test/scala/com/metamx/tranquility/example/ScalaExample.scala and it looks like you need new tranquility objects for each new data store. Do you have any simple examples of tranquility applications that listen to realtime data for multiple datasources?

Thanks and Regards

Manohar

Hey Manohar,

1/2) The ‘intervals’ in the task spec are basically a filter for indexing. If Druid encounters rows outside that time range when scanning your source data, then those rows will not be indexed.

1. Yes, this is expected. Batch data loads in Druid are “replace-by-interval” by default, so when you load data for a particular interval, it replaces all existing data for that same interval. This is designed to make it easier to reload data after potentially altering it.