Druid update from 20.2 to 21.0 breaks entry in hdfs

Hello, I’m new in druid and ran into the problem that new segments and task logs could not be written to hdfs storage, when I upgraded druid from version 0.20.2 to version >=0.21.0

Exception appeared in middlemanager Kuber Pods (from 0.22.0 example):

2021-12-09T11:17:56,762 INFO [forking-task-runner-3] org.apache.druid.storage.hdfs.tasklog.HdfsTaskLogs - Writing task log to: /apps/druid/indexing-logs/single_phase_sub_task_indicators_penpgaom_2021-12-09T11_13_38.031Z
2021-12-09T11:17:56,763 INFO [forking-task-runner-3] org.apache.druid.indexing.overlord.ForkingTaskRunner - Exception caught during execution
java.io.IOException: Mkdirs failed to create /apps/druid/indexing-logs (exists=false, cwd=file:/opt/druid)
        at org.apache.hadoop.fs.ChecksumFileSystem.create(ChecksumFileSystem.java:455) ~[?:?]
        at org.apache.hadoop.fs.ChecksumFileSystem.create(ChecksumFileSystem.java:441) ~[?:?]
        at org.apache.hadoop.fs.FileSystem.create(FileSystem.java:929) ~[?:?]
        at org.apache.hadoop.fs.FileSystem.create(FileSystem.java:910) ~[?:?]
        at org.apache.hadoop.fs.FileSystem.create(FileSystem.java:807) ~[?:?]
        at org.apache.druid.storage.hdfs.tasklog.HdfsTaskLogs.pushTaskFile(HdfsTaskLogs.java:84) ~[?:?]
        at org.apache.druid.storage.hdfs.tasklog.HdfsTaskLogs.pushTaskLog(HdfsTaskLogs.java:66) ~[?:?]
        at org.apache.druid.indexing.overlord.ForkingTaskRunner.waitForTaskProcessToComplete(ForkingTaskRunner.java:473) ~[druid-indexing-service-0.22.0.jar:0.22.0]
        at org.apache.druid.indexing.overlord.ForkingTaskRunner$1.call(ForkingTaskRunner.java:365) [druid-indexing-service-0.22.0.jar:0.22.0]
        at org.apache.druid.indexing.overlord.ForkingTaskRunner$1.call(ForkingTaskRunner.java:138) [druid-indexing-service-0.22.0.jar:0.22.0]
        at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(FutureTask.java:266) [?:1.8.0_275]