HDFS/S3 vs Local storage

Hello everyone,

I’m new to druid.io and Hadoop/HDFS. I’ve already configured Druid on single machine with success.
So now I’m trying to configure cluster to be able to handle about 5 billion records.

I’ve read the docs, specially http://druid.io/docs/latest/configuration/production-cluster.html and http://druid.io/docs/latest/tutorials/cluster.html
But I’m not sure about deep storage on HDFS/S3. I have 1Gbps network on my servers so it Limits me to 100MBps vs 1GBps on RAID 10 4x SSD.
In such a case isn’t it better to keep historical nodes on local disk? I understand it’s not safe regarding data lose, but anyway im keeping raw data in other databases a different server. Also i don’t need realtime data - I only index data once every month from other database.

For now I 3 servers have available for Druid - 2x 256GB RAM, 20c/40t + 1x 128 GB RAM 6c/12t, all with SSDs. So I tought about using it in the following way:

1. 256GB RAM for Historical node + Overlord node
  2. 256GB RAM for Middle Manager + Coordinator
  3. 128GB RAM for Broker Node + Zookeeper
    Does it seem reasonable?

Any help will be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Hi Michael,

Welcome to the Druid community!