How does Query priority work?

As per the docs, the queries with higher priority in context are given preference for computational resources. I am running tests where I have only set druid.broker.http.numConnections=1, so that broker can run atmost one query at a time on historicals.

I send 5 parallel queries to the broker with different priorities after sending one big query(so that it completely utilizes the connection pool which is just one connection, and all the 5 queries are queued).

My expectation was that query with higher priorities should finish first. But the results are not deterministic, and the queries finish in some random order.

Is my understanding correct or is this the expected behavior?

Hi,
you devised an interesting and thoughtful test setup. I’m not a Druid expert, so my understanding might be flawed, but here’s what I believe to know:

• the query priority comes into effect only on the historicals. the brokers just relay them.

• historicals execute a query on each applicable segment and those tasks are put onto a prioritized queue

In this class: https://github.com/druid-io/druid/blob/4b3bd8bd630130fb852dfa3054bd9a60d507fd2b/processing/src/main/java/io/druid/query/PrioritizedExecutorService.java
you see in lines 210-228 that the priority queue orders tasks first by their priority and among tasks of equal priority, a “queue insertion place” number is used to decide who’s first. In lines 119-124 you can see that if FIFO scheduling is enabled on the historicals, this insertion place decreases, otherwise it is always 0 which means that 100 tasks with equal query priority are executed in random order.

What this means is