Ingestion from kerberised Kafka

Another Druid noob here!

Context

I am running a druid cluster by following the cluster deployment instructions given in the documentation Clustered deployment on an Azure Machine. I have been following Druid documentation for almost everything.

I have made three copies of the extracted folder and I am treating one as master server and other two as data server and query server respectively and I am able to ingest data from non-kerberised HDFS ( haven’t tried kerberised HDFS yet ) and non-kerberised Kafka. So, everything was working fine now!

Experiment

When I try to ingest data from Kerberised Kafka, I did not find any proper documentation. From Google search I was able to get an idea and according to that I followed the steps

• Step 1 : Got the keytab and a principal for accessing the Kafka.

• Step 2 : Installed kerberos client on my Azure machine and run the kinit command to obtain a Kerberos TGT

• Step 3 : Prepared a JAAS file with the following contents:

KafkaClient {
        com.sun.security.auth.module.Krb5LoginModule required
        useKeyTab=true
        storeKey=true
        keyTab="/home/user/kafka.service.keytab"
        principal="user@EXAMPLE.COM"
};

and then configured the jvm.config file in all the three server folders in all the processes i.e. co-ordinator, overlord, middle manager, historical, router, broker by adding this line in the jvm.config

-Djava.security.auth.login.config=/home/rtrs/client_jaas.conf

I also added this line

-Djava.security.krb5.conf=/etc/krb5.conf

pointing to the kerberos configuration file!

Now, when I am entering the following details in the Kafka Ingestion UI in Druid

• Bootstrap Server : BROKER_NODE:PORT
  • Topic : test_topic
  • Consumer properties :
    { "bootstrap.servers": "10.144.102.128:6667","security.protocol":"SASL_PLAINTEXT"}

I am getting the following error:

Logs