Support for dynamic dimensions and metric field

Hi,
I am new to druid and as i was exploring the druid, i was wondering if there is any way to store dynamic fields in druid like we can do in lucene. Any insights would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

Can you describe a bit more what you mean by dynamic fields? Druid supports schema-less dimensions, so you are not bound by the dimensions specified when you setup your ingestion or indexing, new dimensions are added automatically.

Hi Xavier,

We just started playing with Druid for a POC.

My observation was that : If we leave the dimensions as an empty array in the realtime.spec(dimensionless schema), we were able to add new dimensions runtime.

However, if I have a set of dimensions already mentioned and then I change the dimensions in the data at runtime, those were not reflected in the queries.

Is this expected behavior ? Or is there some config we might have missed ?

Any pointers will be really helpful. Thanks !!

Hi,

Yes, the behavior you mentioned is expected.

– Himanshu

Related question: In schema-less is there a way to keep dimensions from being consumed by metrics (say I want a hyperloglog of a dim but also to keep the original dim)

Thanks,

Michael

Hi,

I don’t think so. Aggregator dependency columns are excluded from the dimension list.

However, does your usecase really need that? if you put that dimension in the dimension list then HLL aggregator wouldn’t really aggregate multiple values at indexing time anyway, in that case, you can just remove it from indexing and use cardinality aggregator at query time to find unique counts.

– Himanshu

Thanks Himanshu !!

So basically, druid does not adjust to dynamic dimension change unless it is dimensionless.

Does having a dimensionless schema have any performance or storage implications for queries ? For any particular kind of queries timeseries or group by ?