TimeStamp Column in Data and general data ingestion

Hi Druid Developers,

I am a newbie to Druid and as a first step i am trying to load data into druid. Pardon me if my question is too naive.

i am looking into doc ‘http://druid.io/docs/latest/ingestion/’ for data ingestion.

From what i can understand is having Time-stamp column in your data file mandatory. Is this true? All i have is a date column at beginning of the file.If this is not true not then what should i mention is the spec file below

"timestampSpec" : {
        "column" : "timestamp",
        "format" : "auto"

Below is the first line of data. Can you please let me know if this format is acceptable. values in red are dimension values and rest are metric values. For now i want to load metric values as is into druid without any aggregation.Should i load them as dimension values as well or should i load them still as metricSpec but since i am loading all dimensions into druid it wont aggregate them.

3/7/2015^20^1366318122374311707 ^2216341272195416704 ^0^N^1514^Y^USD^Unbranded^87.9900^1^1^1.8300^0.0000^0.0000^0.0000^0.0000^0.0000^1.8300^0^0.483^0^0^0^87.99

Regards

Karteek

Hey,

i am not sure, if druid “auto” covers your specific timestamp format.

I assume you have day and month without leading zeros, so the format is probably “d/M/yyyy”.

DateTimeFormatter fmt = DateTimeFormat.forPattern(“d/M/yyyy”);

System.out.println(fmt.print(System.currentTimeMillis()));

``

See also Timestamp Spec:

Cheers.

Ah, and your other questions. Sure, looks acceptable to me. Delimiter is “^”, which you have to specify for your csv format. And then you also specify all dimensions in the order they appear in your csv line. And then you specify those columns, that you wanna include or exclude from that.

Thank a lot olaf. Will try and keep you posted.

karteek