Understand Kafka indexing service in druid

Hi All ,

I am new to Kafka , and to druid. I am trying to explore druid’s realtime ingestion capabilities, and did a couple of tests in my single node EC2 M5d12x Amazon machine.

I have got some questions during these tests and would be really glad if any of you can put your thoughts around it -

1. how to determine the number of segments and tasks created in Kafka indexing service ?

I have a Kafka broker , where my data rate is ~10k events /minute . And I have submitted the Kafka index service which looks like below :

{

“type”: “kafka”,

“dataSchema”: {

"dataSource": "DS_name",

"parser": {

"type": "string",

"parseSpec": {

"format": "json",

"timestampSpec": {

"column": "utcTimestamp",

"format": "auto"

},

"dimensionsSpec": {

"dimensions": [

"column1",

"column2",

"column3",

"column4"

]

}

}

},

"metricsSpec" : [],

"granularitySpec": {

"type": "uniform",

"segmentGranularity": "MINUTE",

"queryGranularity": "NONE",

"rollup": true

}

},

“ioConfig”: {

"topic": "kafka_topic",

"consumerProperties": {

"bootstrap.servers": "kafka_broker_host:9092"

}

}

}

I see under the indexing logs , there are multiple tasks logs created , when checked one of them it looks like there are 24 partitions (0 -23) in my data , and from the above ingestion spec you can see my segment granularity is at “minute” level

But in the overlord I see more than 24 segments – see below

so my doubts are , how are the number of segments calculated and also why am I seeing multiple index tasks logs for the single Kafka index ingestion spec I submitted?

2. What is “#” in the above screenshot ? Also why is size 0B here ?

My Kafka broker has data for the 7th hour of day 2019-05-23 , I am thinking this 0B would mean the segments are not yet published for querying ! is my understanding right ?

**3. Are there any suggestions around how to make the realtime ingestion faster in druid ? **