What happens to segments on a decommissioned historical node?

Segments on a decommissioned historical node remain queryable until they’ve been downloaded onto a new node. Once the new node announces that it is queryable, the decommissioned node deletes the segments.

Read about decommissioningNodes here, and here’s a bit of context.